Connect to a Server on a Different Network in Windows 10

My work PC’s IP address is 192.168.1.99 and a server that I recovered from a co-location facility has a static IP of 10.15.20.180.  So, of course, when I connected the server to our network and ping 10.15.20.180, I get no replies.

ping1Capture

I go to Control Panel > Network and Internet > Network Connections, right-click, Properties, select Internet Protocol Version 4 (TCP/IPv4) and click Properties.

network0Capture

Our network, like most, has a DHCP service.  I’ll need to change to a static IP so that I can add a second IP address to the NIC (multihomed).  I’ll run ipconfig /all to get my current IP.

ipconfig0Capture

Select the Use the following IP address: radio button, retype my static IP information then click Advanced.

network1Capture

Under the IP address section click the Add button and enter an IP address and Subnet mask in the same class as the server I’m trying to connect to – in this case I used 10.15.20.99 and 255.255.255.0.

network2Capture

Click OK to all of that and run ipconfig /all to confirm the additional IP address.

ipconfig1Capture

Now I ping 10.15.20.180 and I get replies.

ping2Capture

And I can remote into the server.

Leave a Reply

